Cong loses Chandigarh MC Polls, now its turn for Punjab Congress

The demonetization of BJP showed the magic in Chandigarh MC Polls as BJP got clear majority by winning 21 seats. Congress party managed to win only four seats in MC elections. The SAD-BJP alliance captured the MC polls with a landslide victory.

The MC election was an acid test for both BJP and Congress after demonetization. The BJP came out with flying colors in the fifth MC polls. Chandigarh Congress had contested the polls on demonetization issue and the party was only criticizing PM Narendra Modi.

Even the senior Congress leaders were predicting the results in favor of the party.  However, the people of Chandigarh gave their mandate in favor of BJP. The Congress stalwarts lost the battle this time. Subhash Chawla, Congress candidate and two time mayor lost the polls.

Even the Chandigarh Congress President Pardeep Chhabra failed to help his wife Ritu Chhabra who lost from ward number three. The former mayor of Congress, Poonam Sharma failed to win his seat from ward number 4. Even the former mayor Harphool Chander Kalyan lost the polls.

It is crystal clear the MC election was one sided and the show was stolen by BJP on Tuesday. The mayor will be from BJP as there are total 36 seats. The election held for 26 seats and BJP won 21 seats. The UT Administrator will nominate the nine councilors.

Congress can’t elect the mayor from the party if nine nominated councilors may vote for the Congress. The BJP has clear majority of 21 seats and Congress is still helpless if the party gets support from nine nominated councilors.

It is now crystal clear that people are with SAD-BJP alliance. Despite the demonetization, the people supported the alliance. In Punjab, demonetization will give a major setback to Punjab Congress. It’s now the turn of Punjab Congress to taste the third consecutive defeat.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s